clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Thunder announce no fans for home games this season

New, comment

Chesapeake Energy Arena will remain without fans

Memphis Grizzlies v Oklahoma City Thunder - Game Five Photo by Joe Murphy/NBAE via Getty Images

The Thunder have informed season ticker holders via email that they will play the rest of the season without fans. The decision taken by the OKC Thunder was based on the overall health and safety of community members. Royce Young of ESPN reported these details on Twitter.

The Thunder have 19 home games left with their season ending on May 16.

There are currently 16 teams in the league who are allowing or are planning on allowing a limited number of fans. The full list of teams is as follows; Hawks, Celtics, Nets, Hornets, Cavaliers, Mavericks, Rockets, Pacers, Grizzlies, Heat, Bucks, Pelicans, Knicks, Magic, 76ers, Suns, Spurs, Jazz.

Earlier today, Marc Stein of The New York Times reported that the Philadelphia Sixers and San Antonio Spurs have plans for the return of fans in the second half of March.

The Thunder are the first team in the NBA to announce that they will not allow fans for the entire season.