clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma City Thunder guard Russell Westbrook wins 2017 KIA NBA MVP Award

New, comments

Westbrook edges James Harden and Kawhi Leonard to win 2017 NBA MVP honors

NBA: All Star Game-Eastern at Western Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

Following a year of historic output, the inaugural NBA Awards show culminated with Oklahoma City Thunder guard Russell Westbrook being named 2017 KIA NBA MVP.

By setting the league’s new seasonal triple-double record in April, among other memorable feats, Westbrook edged fellow MVP finalists James Harden and Kawhi Leonard for the distinction.

Along a well-chronicled pursuit of Oscar Roberson’s half-century old versatility marker, Westbrook became the first player since 1962 to average triple-double numbers for an entire season.

Further, as Oklahoma City won 47 games, and made a seventh post-season appearance in eight years, the 28-year-old Westbrook led the NBA in scoring (31.6), ranked second in assists (10.4), and 10th in RPG (10.7).

By securing his first NBA MVP award, Westbrook joins a select group of point guards —including Bob Cousy, Steve Nash, Magic Johnson, Derrick Rose, and Oscar Roberson— to claim Most Valuable Player honors.

To buttress these near-unrivaled accomplishments, this season Westbrook made his seventh All-NBA and sixth All Star teams, was named NBA Player of the Week four times, and Player of the Month twice.

And to leave no doubt upon his defining campaign, the relentless 6’3 guard recorded 18 games of 40+ points and four contests of 50+ points while recording multiple triple-double streaks to propel the Thunder beyond expectations.

Other award winners on the evening include:

  • Rookie of The Year: Malcom Brogdon Milwaukee Bucks
  • Sixth Man of The Year: Eric Gordon Houston Rockets
  • Twyman-Stokes Teammate of The Year Award: Dirk Nowitzki Dallas Mavericks
  • Dunk of The Year: Victor Oladipo Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Hustle Award Winner: Patrick Beverley Houston Rockets
  • Sportsmanship Award Winner: Kemba Walker Charlotte Hornets
  • Lifetime achievement award: Bill Russell
  • Most Improved Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo Milwaukee Bucks
  • Coach of The Year: Mike D’Antoni Houston Rockets
  • Game-Winning Shot of The Year: Russell Westbrook Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Defensive Player of The Year: Draymond Green Golden State Warriors
  • Sager Strong Award: Monty Williams