clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The San Antonio Spurs are the 2013-14 NBA Champions!

New, comments

After knocking out the Thunder, the Spurs went on to beat the Heat and claim the O'Brien Trophy.

William Bennett Berry

Once again, the San Antonio Spurs stand on top of the NBA as its champions.

After they eliminated our Oklahoma City Thunder in six games in the Western Conference Finals, the Spurs advanced to the NBA Finals and took out the Miami Heat in five games. The Heat won Game 2 by two points, but lost the other four games by an average margin of 18.0 points and met major struggles against the Spurs' ability to continuously to kick and swing the ball on offense as well as a striking disparity in the number of players that were able to produce as needed.

Kawhi Leonard was named Finals MVP for his efforts. In the five-game series, he averaged 17.8 points on 61.2% shooting from the field, 6.4 rebounds, 2.0 assists, 1.6 steals and 1.2 blocks while going toe-to-toe against LeBron James. At 22 years and 349 days old, Leonard is the second-youngest player to win Finals MVP ever after Magic Johnson in 1980 and 1982 (20 and 22 respectively).

This is the Spurs' fifth NBA title, and their first since the 2006-07 season when they topped the Cleveland Cavaliers in the Finals. As a side note, Tim Duncan has now won a championship in each of the past three decades.

Congratulations to the entire Spurs organization and its fans, including our friends over at SB Nation's Spurs site, Pounding the Rock.